Biomedical Imaging Research Unit

2020 Hilary Holloway Prize for best image - Joscelin Smith

Joscelin Smith, from the Department of Physiology is the 2020 winner of the Hilary Holloway Prize for best image. Joscelin was the winner of the Confocal Microscopy category. In addition to keeping the trophy for one year, Joscelin received a special "Basket of Knowledge" award. The photo below shows Joscelin receiving her award from BIRU Director Dr Gus Grey.

The winning image is shown below (click on the image to see a larger version). Entitled "Deep sea neurons", the image shows ganglionated plexi neurons in the heart. It was stained for neuron specific markers (GluR2, ChAT and NFH and acquired on the Olympus FV1000 confocal microscope using a 10x/0.4 NA objective lens.