Biomedical Imaging Research Unit

Annual image competition results 2015

08 December 2015

Trophy winner Charles (Ho) Kong, School of Chemical Sciences, with his prizes in the BIRU Library

The results of the Annual Image Competition were announced at the BIRU End of Year Celebration on Thursday 3 December. There were over 90 entries this year covering a wide range of research interests. The standard was very high and a number of additional awards were made.

The BIRU Image Trophy was awarded to Charles (Ho) Kong, School of Chemical Sciences. Charles was the winner of the Electron Microscopy category with a cryo-SEM image of a strawberry specimen.


Helen Murray, a PhD student from the Department of Anatomy with Radiology/Centre for Brain Research and Dr Aran Sisley from the Department of Ophthalmology were joint winners of the Light Microscopy category. Amelia Power, a PhD student from the Department of Physiology, won the Confocal Microscopy category this year. Eppuje (Eryn) Kwon, from the Department of Mechanical Engineering, was the winner of the Visualisation and Analysis category.

View the winning images!

There were a number of Highly Commended awards given. Recipients were Linda Graham (LabPlus), Brenda Cerqueira (Department of Pharmacology), Dr Aran Sisley (Department of Ophthalmology), Chantal Pileggi (Liggins Institute), Katy Seddon (School of Biological Sciences) and Panzao Yang (Liggins Institute).

View the highly commended entries!

An additional Special Mention award was given to Glenn Bell, a PhD student from the Department of Molecular Medicine and Pathology for his Pac-Manase image. See the image...