School of Medicine


Department of Medicine staff search

Find academic and professional staff at the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences using the staff search options below.

Alternatively, search and view the following lists.

If you are a staff member, you can search for a staff member through:

If the contact information for the person of interest is not available, please contact the department. 

The Department of Medicine is supported in its educational mission by hundreds of honorary clinical staff. Please contact the HOD p.poole@auckland.ac.nz, with a brief CV, if you would like to be considered for this title. Benefits include access to the university library, mention in the university calendar, and invitations to department and other activities.         

Grafton Campus


Head, Department of Medicine     Clinical Specialty/Research Interests
Professor Phillippa Poole p.poole@auckland.ac.nz            profile   General Medicine, Medical Education
Professors      
Professor Warwick Bagg w.bagg@auckland.ac.nz profile Endocrinology, Medical Education  
Professor Alan Barber neurology@auckland.ac.nz profile Neurology Research  
Professor Jill Cornish j.cornish@auckland.ac.nz profile Bone Research
Professor  Tim Cundy t.cundy@auckland.ac.nz profile Bone Research, Gestational Diabetes
Professor Nicola Dalbeth n.dalbeth@auckland.ac.nz profile Rheumatology, Gout  
Professor Rob Doughty r.doughty@auckland.ac.nz profile Heart Health  
Professor Des Gorman d.gorman@auckland.ac.nz profile Health Workforce, Occupational Medicine  
Professor Sally Poppitt s.poppitt@auckland.ac.nz profile Nutrition Research
Professor John Kolbe jkolbe@adhb.govt.nz profile Cystic Fibrosis, Respiratory Research
Adjunct Professors      
Adjunct Clinical Professor Ed Gane EdGane@adhb.govt.nz profile Liver Research
Adjunct Clinical Professor Ralph Stewart RStewart@adhb.govt.nz profile Cardiology
Associate Professors      
Assoc Prof Geoff Braatvedt g.braatvedt@auckland.ac.nz profile Endocrinology, Diabetes Research
Assoc Prof Mark Bolland m.bolland@auckland.ac.nz profile Bone Research
Assoc Prof Andrew Grey a.grey@auckland.ac.nz profile Endocrinology, Bone Research  
Assoc Prof Malcolm Legget m.legget@auckland.ac.nz profile Cardiovascular Research  
Assoc Prof Rinki Murphy r.murphy@auckland.ac.nz profile Diabetes
Assoc Prof Richard Roxburgh RichardR@adhb.govt.nz profile Neurology
Assoc Prof Cathy Stinear c.stinear@auckland.ac.nz profile Neurology Research  
Adjunct Associate Professors      
Assoc Prof Helen Pilmore   hpilmore@adhb.govt.nz profile Renal Research  
Assoc Prof Robert Young RobertY@adhb.govt.nz profile Respiratory Research
Senior Lecturers      
Dr Matthew Dawes m.dawes@auckland.ac.nz profile Year 4 Medicine  
Dr Will Dransfield
WillD@adhb.govt.nz profile  
Dr Maggie Ow m.ow@auckland.ac.nz profile Year 5 Medicine, Gastroenterology
Adjunct Senior Lecturer      
Dr Nigel Lever nlever@adhb.govt.nz profile Year 6 Medicine, Cardiology 
Senior Research Fellow      
Dr Dorit Naot d.naot@auckland.ac.nz profile Bone Research  
Research Fellows      
Dr Sarah Bristow s.bristow@auckland.ac.nz profile Bone Research  
Dr Nikki Earle n.earle@auckland.ac.nz profile Cardiovascular Research  
Dr Anne Horne a.horne@auckland.ac.nz profile
Bone Research  
Dr Mohanraj Krishnan mohanraj.krishnan@auckland.ac.nz profile Genetic Studies
Dr David Musson d.musson@auckland.ac.nz profile Bone Research  
Dr Loretta Radford l.radford@auckland.ac.nz profile Bone Research  
Dr Marie-Claire Smith m-c.smith@auckland.ac.nz profile Neurology Research
Fellow      
Dr Raewyn Poulsen r.poulsen@auckland.ac.nz profile Bone Research
Top

Waitemata Campus


Associate Dean 

    Clinical Specialty/Research Interests
Professor Martin Connolly martin.connolly@waitemataDHB.govt.nz profile
Geriatrics Research  
Senior Lecturers      
Dr Laura Chapman
laura.chapman@waitemataDHB.govt.nz profile Acute General Medicine
Dr Katherine Bloomfield
katherine.bloomfield@waitemataDHB.govt.nz profile Geriatrics Research  
Clinical Senior Lecturers      
Dr Jonathan Christiansen Jonathan.Christiansen@waitemataDHB.govt.nz profile Cardiology
Dr Gerardus de Jong Gerard.DeJong@waitemataDHB.govt.nz profile General Medicine, Metabolic Disease
Dr Vivienne Kim   Vivienne.Kim@waitemataDHB.govt.nz profile General Medicine
Dr Janak de Zoysa Janak.deZoysa@waitemataDHB.govt.nz profile Nephrology
Dr Vinod Singh vinod.singh@waitemataDHB.govt.nz   Stroke, Internal Medicine
Senior Research Fellow      
Dr Joanna Broad j.broad@auckland.ac.nz profile Geriatrics Research  
Professional Teaching Fellow
     
Dr Annabelle Claridge annabelle.claridge@waitemataDHB.govt.nz profile Geriatrics Research  
Top

South Auckland Clinical Campus


Head of Section     Clinical Specialty/Research Interests
Professor Harold Rea
HRea@middlemore.co.nz profile Respiratory Research
Associate Professor      
Assoc Prof Tim Kenealy
t.kenealy@auckland.ac.nz profile Diabetes, Integrated Care
Adjunct Assoc Professor      
Assoc Prof Mark Marshall markrogermarshall@icloud.com profile Renal Research
Senior Lecturer      
Dr Briar Peat Briar.Peat@middlemore.co.nz profile Learning Development  
Honorary Senior Lecturers      
Dr Melisa Birdling Melisa.Birdling@middlemore.co.nz profile Greiatric Medicine
Dr Paul Jarrett Paul.Jarrett@middlemore.co.nz profile Dermatology
Dr Roger Reynolds Rreynolds@middlemore.co.nz profile Rheumatology
Top

Waikato Campus


Assistant Dean
    Clinical Specialty/Research Interests
Assoc  Professor Michael Jameson Michael.Jameson@waikatoDHB.health.nz profile Oncology  
Associate Professor      
Assoc Professor John Conaglen
j.conaglen@auckland.ac.nz profile Sexual Health  
Senior Lecturers      
Dr Marianne Elston   Marianne.Elston@waikatodhb.health.nz profile Endocrinology
Dr Jade Tamatea Jade.Tamatea@waikatodhb.health.nz profile Endocrinology
Adjunct Associate Professor      
Dr Amanda Oakley Amanda.Oakley@waikatoDHB.health.nz profile Dermatology
Adjunct Senior Lecturer      
Dr Helen Conaglen h.conaglen@auckland.ac.nz profile
Sexual Health
Clinical Senior Lecturers      
Dr Maggie Fisher Margaret.Fisher@waikatoDHB.health.nz profile Renal Medicine, General Medicine
Dr Simone Macindoe Simone.Macindoe@waikatoDHB.health.nz profile Older Persons and Rehabilitation
Dr Louise Wolmarans Louise.Wolmarans@waikatoDHB.health.nz   Endocrinology and Diabetes
Dr Douglas White   Douglas.White@waikatoDHB.health.nz profile Rheumatology
Top

Rotorua


Academic coordinator
    Clinical Specialty/Research Interests
Adjunct Senior Lecturer      
Dr Nic Crook Nic.Crook@lakesDHB.govt.nz profile Endocrinology
Honorary Senior Lecturer      
Dr Carolyn Allen Carolyn.Allen@lakesDHB.govt.nz   Respiratory and General Medicine
Dr David Silverman David.Silverman@lakesDHB.govt.nz   Geriatrician
Top

Tauranga


Honorary Senior Lecturers     Clinical Specialty/Research Interests
Dr Graeme Porter Graeme.Porter@bopDHB.govt.nz profile Cardiology
Dr Kate Grimwade Kate.Grimwade@bopDHB.govt.nz   Infectious Diseases/Tropical Medicine
Dr Victoria Henstridge Vicky.Henstridge@bopDHB.govt.nz   Acute and Geriatric Medicine
Dr Prue McCallum PrueM@waipuna-hospice.co.nz profile Palliative Medicine
Dr Richard North Richard.North@bopDHB.govt.nz profile Oncology
Top

Taranaki


Honorary Senior Lecturers     Clinical Specialty/Research Interests
Dr Ashik Hayat Ashik.Hayat@tDHB.org.nz   Nephrology
Dr Rajesh Kumar Rajesh.Kumar@tDHB.org.nz profile Rheumatology
Top

Northland


Academic Coordinator     Clinical Specialty/Research Interests
Dr Win Bennett w.bennett@auckland.ac.nz profile  
Honorary Senior Lecturers      
Dr Yuki Aoyagi Yuki.Aoyagi@northlandDHB.org.nz profile Infectious Diseases/General Medicine
Dr Alan Davis Alan.Davis@northlandDHB.org.nz profile Geriatric Medicine
Dr Erin Doherty Erin.Doherty@northlandDHB.org.nz   Cardiology
Dr Adam Mullan Adam.Mullan@northlandDHB.org.nz profile Nephrology
Dr Walaa Saweirs Walaa.Saweirs@northlandDHB.org.nz profile Nephrology
Dr Jennifer Walker Jennifer.Walker@northlandDHB.org.nz profile Nephrology
Top