School of Medicine

Department of Ophthalmology


The Department of Ophthalmology consists of 50 staff and students and is headed by Professor Charles McGhee. Our teaching and research programmes focus on the clinical, cellular and molecular aspects of the visual system. Ophthalmology offers students an excellent opportunity for training in both clinical Ophthalmology and biomedical vision research.

  • News and events

    See what is on and what has been happening in our department.

  • Our department

    Learn about the history and structure of our department.

  • Our teaching

    Our department is involved in a range of medical and science teaching programmes.

  • Our research

    Our department undertakes internationally recognised clinical and scientific research.

  • Staff search

    Over 50 clinicians, scientists, technicians, and support staff work in our department.

  • Our publications

    Our staff and students have published over 1000 articles and books since 1995.

  • Contact us

    Contact us for more information.


The New Zealand National Eye Centre (NZ-NEC) is the culmination of more than eight years of collaboration and planning between many researchers in the field of ophthalmology, optometry, eye health and visual sciences in the University of Auckland.


The New Zealand National Eye Bank has been based in the Department since 1991.


The Department is home to the administrative office of Glaucoma New Zealand.


All clinically qualified members of the Department provide clinical expertise to the Auckland District Health Board.