Waikato Clinical Campus

History of the Waikato Clinical Campus


An agreement concerning the formation of the Waikato Academic Division, (renamed the Waikato Clinical Campus in 2001) was signed by Prof Peter Gluckman from the University of Auckland and Dr Tony Cull, Health Waikato CEO in 1994.

The school grew rapidly under the leadership of Dr Peter Rothwell and became a clinical teaching centre with an excellent reputation for providing clinical experience and a supportive environment for the students. In 2002 a new building incorporating the Clinical Skills Centre and the Library was opened and named the ‘Peter Rothwell Academic Centre’. Dr Rothwell was succeeded by Dr Jack Havill in 2003 and Prof Ross Lawrenson in 2005.

The Chief Executive Officer of the Waikato DHB from 1998 to 2005 was Dr Jan White who not only supported the Waikato Clinical School as a teaching centre but also supported research with the establishment of Chairs in Medicine, Anaesthetics, Psychiatry and Primary Health Care. This support for research has been continued by the current administration led by the CEO, Mr Craig Climo. The University of Auckland greatly values their strategic partnership with the Waikato DHB and formally signed a ‘Strategic Alliance Agreement’ in November 2005.

The Rotorua campus was started in 2003 with the placement of 12 Trainee Interns (TIs, 6th year medical students) at Rotorua Hospital. In 2009 the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences signed an agreement with the Bay of Plenty District Health Board. Waikato Clinical Campus 5th year students have the opportunity to spend some of their clinical time at both Lakes and Bay of Plenty DHB.