Centre for Brain Research

Neuropsychopharmacology Group

Working together to improve lives

Dr Suresh Muthukumaraswamy

Suresh completed his PhD in psychology at the University of Auckland in 2005 after which he joined the newly established Cardiff University Brain Research Imaging Centre as a post-doctoral fellow. He's also been recipient of a Rutherford Discovery Fellowship, which had him return to Auckland where he works in both the Schools of Pharmacy and Psychology.

Dr Muthukumaraswamy's main research interests are in understanding how drugs alter brain activity and in developing methodologies to measure these changes in both healthy individuals and patient groups.

His studies have involved a range of compounds including hallucinogens, anaesthetics, anti-epileptics and GABA-enhancers. 

His research uses a wide-range of neuroimaging techniques including magnetoencephalography, electroencephalography, functional magnetic resonance imaging and magnetic resonance spectroscopy.

View Suresh's full profile at the School of Pharmacy, Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences, here.



Team members

Suresh team










Yaqub Jonmohamadi - Post Doctoral Fellow

Rachael Sumner - PhD student 

“Using EEG to measure cortical excitation/inhibition balance in health and disease”

Anna Forsyth - PhD student

“Investigating the pharmacological modulation of brain activity with simultaneous Electroencephalography and functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging”

Rebecca Grass - PhD student

"Understanding pharmacological and hormonal influences on neural connectivity in health and disease” 

Steph Nuysink - BSc (hons) student


  • Record quantitative biomarkers of treatment outcomes in neuro-psychiatric conditions.
  • Develop methods to measure drug outcomes in the Central Nervous System.

Areas of interest










  • Neuroimaging and fMRI
  • Treatment resistant depression
  • Psychoparmacology
  • Transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS)



For a full list of publications, visit Dr Muthukumaraswamy's profile at the School of Pharmacy, Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences, here