Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences

MBChB programme outline

The medical programme is six years in duration, leading to the award of the MBChB. There are four distinct phases in the medical curriculum, each with a particular curricular emphasis:



Curriculum emphasis

Phase A Year 1 Health Sciences Foundation
Phase 1 Year 2 and 3 Fundamentals of Clinical Practice
Phase 2 Year 4 and 5 Clinical Practice in Context
Phase 3 Year 6 Preparation for workplace


Each phase builds on the one before it, covering clinically-related topics at an increasing level of difficulty and in more complex contexts. As the curriculum organisation becomes more explicit to both students and teachers, students will be increasingly expected to take responsibility for the revisiting of basic clinical sciences and skills learned earlier in the programme.




Medical Programme Directorate

Physical address

Medical Programme Directorate
Room 010, Building 501 
Grafton Campus 
85 Park Road Grafton 
Auckland 1023

Postal address

Medical Programme Directorate 
Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences
The University of Auckland
Private Bag 92019
New Zealand


Phone: +64 9 923 1606
Fax: +64 9 373 7555
Email: mpd@auckland.ac.nz