School of Medicine

Welcome to the School of Medicine

The school is one of the five schools within the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences and is based at Grafton Campus with two clinical schools in South Auckland and Waikato.

We operate seven specialty clinical departments across clinical schools and campuses. The departments are: Anaesthesiology, Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Ophthalmology, Paediatrics (Youth and Child Health), Psychological Medicine, and Surgery.

The School of Medicine (SOM) coordinates staff and resources within the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences to:

  • deliver the undergraduate medical programme
  • facilitate and encourage clinical and applied research in clinical departments
  • develop and deliver postgraduate programmes in clinical areas covered by the school.

The School of Medicine also has a close and symbiotic relationship with the School of Medical Sciences and the School of Population Health in delivering the medical programme.