School of Medicine


Surgical Research Network - Doctoral and masters research projects


The Surgical Reserach Network offers a range of excellent opportunities for fulltime research. Research can be towards a PhD, MD or Masters degree. The postgraduate research projects advertised here encompass laboratory science, translational research, and clinical trials.


If you have any questions about the projects, please contact:

Mr. Scott Aitken 
Manager Surgical Research Network
DDI: +64 9 923 6929 or +64 9 373 7599 x 86929
Fax: +64 9 377 9656
Email: s.aitken@auckland.ac.nz

Available postgraduate projects


Improving the surgical outcome in livers with NAFLD

Principal supervisor: Mr. Adam Bartlett, a.bartlett@auckland.ac.nz

 

Global Surgery 

Principal supervisor: Prof. Ian Bissett, i.bissett@auckland.ac.nz

 

Acute Diverticulitis 

Principal supervisor: Prof. Ian Bissett i.bissett@auckland.ac.nz

 

Novel approaches to managing postoperative ileus

Principal supervisor: Prof. Ian Bissett, i.bissett@auckland.ac.nz

 
Immunohistochemical analysis of the inflammatory response in normal and diseased sinonasal mucosa

Principal supervisor: A/Prof. Richard Douglas, richard.douglas@auckland.ac.nz

 

Modelling mitochondrial architecture changes in fatty livers

Principal supervisor: Dr. Anthony Hickey, a.hickey@auckland.ac.nz

 

Perioperative care in colorectal surgery

Principal supervisor: Prof. Andrew Hill, a.hill@auckland.ac.nz

 

Health and wellbeing in junior doctors

Principal supervisor: Prof. Andrew Hill, a.hill@auckland.ac.nz

 

Patient-tailored approach to nutrition management in acute pancreatitis

Principal supervisor: Dr. Max Petrov, m.petrov@auckland.ac.nz

 

Step-up versus step-down approach to analgesia in acute pancreatitis

Principal supervisor: Dr. Max Petrov, m.petrov@auckland.ac.nz

 

Early enteral tube feeding and gastrointestinal motility

Principal supervisor: Dr. Max Petrov, m.petrov@auckland.ac.nz

 

Monitoring the redox status in severe illness with cyclic voltammetry

Principal supervisor: Dr. Anthony Phillips, a.phillips@auckland.ac.nz

 

Probing the pathogenesis of critical illness

Principal supervisor: Dr. Anthony Phillips, a.phillips@auckland.ac.nz

 

Unravelling communication of the gut with the pancreas and liver in critical illness

Principal supervisor: Dr. Anthony Phillips, a.phillips@auckland.ac.nz

 

miRNA in surgical gastrointestinal disease

Principal supervisor: Dr. Anthony Phillips, a.phillips@auckland.ac.nz

 

Role of food nucleic acid composition in disease states

Principal supervisor: Dr. Anthony Phillips, a.phillips@auckland.ac.nz

 

Novel therapies for prevention and treatment of ARDS

Principal supervisor: Dr. Anthony Phillips, a.phillips@auckland.ac.nz

 

Gap junctions and MODS

Principal supervisor: Dr. Anthony Phillips, a.phillips@auckland.ac.nz

 

Mediators of cardiac dysfunction in critical illness

Principal supervisor: Dr. Anthony Phillips, a.phillips@auckland.ac.nz

 

Role of probiotics in liver transplantation

Principal supervisor: A/Prof. Lindsay Plank, l.plank@auckland.ac.nz

 

Beta-blockers and insulin resistance in liver cirrhosis

Principal supervisor: A/Prof. Lindsay Plank, l.plank@auckland.ac.nz

   

Modelling the surgical outcome of paediatric hip surgery

Principal supervisor: Prof. Susan Stott, s.stott@auckland.ac.nz

 

Health service delivery in a high-volume paediatric orthopaedic service: Balancing expectations and needs

Principal supervisor: Prof. Susan Stott, s.stott@auckland.ac.nz

 

Mitigating cellular bio-energetic failure following surgery

Principal supervisor: Prof. John A. Windsor, j.windsor@auckland.ac.nz

 

Characterising new elements of the toxicity of mesenteric lymph in critical illness

Principal supervisor: Prof. John A. Windsor, j.windsor@auckland.ac.nz

 

Goal-directed fluid resuscitation in acute pancreatitis

Principal supervisor: Prof. John A. Windsor, j.windsor@auckland.ac.nz

 

Top