2018 Excellence in Ophthalmology and Vision Research Prize Evening


The annual Excellence in Ophthalmology and Vision Research Prize Evening was held on Wednesday, 14th March 2018.

12 summer students were awarded certificates. The inaugural Gordon Sanderson Scholarship was awarded to Hillary Goh. Professor Helen Danesh-Meyer gave a short presentation on late Associate Professor Gordon Sanderson and his significant contributions to Ophthalmology during his career.

We had 5 BMedSci (Hons) students in 2017, who were a given a special mention in Professor McGhee’s State of Nation talk. Professor McGhee also paid a special tribute to A/Professor Bruce Hadden and Dr Wendy Hadden, and thanked them for the tremendous support they have given to the department over the years.

Included among the awards were the prestigious Calvin Ring Undergraduate Prize for best all-round undergraduate student in clinical ophthalmology, the William MacKenzie Medal for early excellence in eye research awarded to a medical student or trainee intern towards a research project which has reached publication status during the year of the award, and the Arthur Thomas Paterson Postgraduate Scholarship which supports a vocational trainee in Ophthalmology to pursue a fellowship overseas.

The event was very well attended by members of the department, senior staff from the School of Medicine and the Faculty, donors, benefactors and friends and family members of the prize winners.


Awards presented and winners honoured at the event were:

  • William MacKenzie Medal - Himanshu Wadhwa
  • Arthur Thomas Paterson Scholarship - Dr Chee Foong Chong
  • Calvin Ring Undergraduate Prize in Ophthalmology - Lize Angelo

BMedSci (Hons) Students:

  • Micah Rapata
  • Henry Wallace
  • Sunny Li
  • Joevy Li
  • Ji Soo Kim

Summer Students for 2017:

  • Jasmine Feng
  • Hillary Goh
  • Evon Jude
  • Charisse Kuo
  • Hayden Lee
  • Joyce Mathan
  • Jerryn Matthews
  • Hannah Ng
  • Darshan Sreshta
  • Matthew Sun
  • Catherine Tian
  • Joyce Wong