2017 Excellence in Ophthalmology and Vision Research Prize Evening


The annual Excellence in Ophthalmology and Vision Research Prize Evening was held on Monday, 13th February 2017.

11 summer students were awarded certificates. Included among the awards were the prestigious Calvin Ring Under­graduate Prize for best all-round undergraduate student in clinical ophthalmology and the Arthur Thomas Paterson Post­graduate Scholarship which supports a vocational trainee in Ophthalmology to pursue a fellowship overseas.

The event was very well attended by members of the department, senior staff from the School of Medicine and the faculty, donors, benefactors and friends and family members of the prize winners.

Awards presented and winners honoured at the event were:

  • William MacKenzie Medal – Jeremy John Mathan
  • Arthur Thomas Paterson Scholarship – Dr Divya Perumal
  • Calvin Ring Undergraduate Prize in Ophthalmology – Dr Charlotte Jordan



Summer Students for 2016

  • Lize Angelo
  • William Cook
  • Darina Khun
  • Ji Soo Kim
  • Charisse Kuo
  • Ye Li
  • Sunny Li
  • Joevy Lim
  • Micah Rapata
  • Michael Wang
  • Kennu Wu