Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences

2015 Excellence in Ophthalmology and Vision Research Prize Evening

23 February 2015

Monday, 23rd February saw the Department of Ophthalmology hosting their annual Excellence in Ophthalmology & Vision Research Awards, with 8 award winners recognised through the evening. Included among these awards are the prestigious Calvin Ring Undergraduate Prize for the best all-round undergraduate student in clinical ophthalmology and the Arthur Paterson Postgraduate Scholarship, which supports newly qualified ophthalmologists to travel offshore. The event was well attended by senior staff of the Faculty, donors, benefactors and families and friends of the prize winners.

Awards presented and winners honoured at the event were:

  • Eye Institute Summer Studentship: Chirag Udhani
  • Tom Cat Trust Summer Studentship: Himanshu Wadhwa
  • Retina New Zealand Summer Studentship: Alix Coysh
  • Buchanan Ocular Therapeutic Unit Summer Studentships: Natalija Hana Vyborna and Prabhat Gokul
  • Save Sight Society Summer Studentship: Jeremy Mathan
  • William McKenzie Medal: Dr Jinny Yoon
  • Arthur Thomas Paterson Postgraduate Scholarship: Dr Rachael Niederer
  • Calvin Ring Undergraduate Prize: Rennie Qin

We also had the opportunity to hear Associate Professor Thiran Jayasundera speak at the event. Thiran talked about the Argus II implantation surgery in patients diagnosed with Retinitis Pigmentosa. He showed the audience a video of the surgical procedure and also how it had changed the lives of the patients.