School of Medicine

Department of Ophthalmology News

13 February 2013

2013 Excellence in Ophthalmology and Vision Research Awards

On Monday 11 February the Department of Ophthalmology hosted their Excellence in Ophthalmology & Vision Research Awards for 2013, with seven award winners recognised through the evening. Included among these awards are the prestigious Calvin Ring Undergraduate Prize for the best all-round undergraduate student in clinical ophthalmology and the Arthur Paterson Postgraduate Scholarship which supports newly qualified ophthalmologists to travel offshore.


Awards presented and winners honoured at the event were:

  • Eye Institute Summer Studentship: Peny Lin
  • Tom Cat Trust Summer Studentship: Reid Ferguson
  • Glaucoma New Zealand Summer Studentship: Joshua Erceg
  • Retina New Zealand/Ombler Trust Summer Studentship: Carissa Sutherland
  • William McKenzie Medal: Elizabeth Eady
  • Arthur Thomas Paterson Postgraduate Scholarship: Dr Andrea Zarkovic
  • Calvin Ring Undergraduate Prize: Michael Plunkett

11 February 2013