School of Medicine

Editorial team

The purpose of our group is to prepare and maintain systematic reviews of diagnosis, prevention and treatment of gynaecology and fertility.

These reviews are prepared and maintained for inclusion in The Cochrane Library. We were established in 1995. We are funded by the New Zealand Government Ministry of Health. The editorial base is located within the department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology in the FMHS.

Coordinating editor

  • Professor Cindy Farquhar, the University of Auckland, New Zealand

Editorial board


  • Ahmed Abou-Setta


  • Dr Hesham Al-Inany

New Zealand

  • Dr Debbie Blake
  • Anne Lethaby
  • Jane Marjoribanks
  • Dr Helen Roberts


  • Dr Annika Strandell


  • Dr Harry Siristatidis


  • Dr Michael F Costello
  • Dr Roger J Hart
  • Professor Martha Hickey
  • Dr Vivienne Moore
  • Dr Caroline A Smith
  • Dr Xiaoshu Zhu


  • Dr Ben Willem J Mol
  • Dr Madelon van Wely

United Kingdom

  • Professor David Barlow
  • Dr Siladitya Bhattacharya

At the editorial office

We share office space with the New Zealand Branch of the Australasian Cochrane Centre. The New Zealand Cochrane Fellow is Dr Vanessa Jordan.

Visit the Cochrane website