Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences

HealtheX 2015

AMRF Emerging Researcher Award

Congratulations to Lily Chang, winner of the Doctoral Oral Presentation Category, for receiving the Auckland Medical Research Foundation Emerging Researcher Award which grants $5,000 towards travel to share her research with the wider scientific community.

Doctoral Oral Presentation Category Winners

First Place: Lily Chang

Department: School of Optometry and Vision Science

Supervisor: Dr Monica Acosta

Title: Window to the central nervous system – Retinal examination for early diagnosis of Alzheimer’s disease


Runner Up: Susann Beier

Department: Department of Anatomy with Radiology

Supervisor:  Professor Alistair Young

Title: 3D printed flow phantoms for dynamically scaled phase contrast MRI to improve coronary artery disease understanding


Runner Up: Hans Vellara

Department: Department of Ophthalmology

Supervisor: Associate Professor Dipika Patel

Title: Dynamic biomechanical properties of keratoconic corneas


Non-Doctoral Oral Presentation Category Winners

First Place: Michael Tzu Min Wang

Department: Department of Ophthalmology

Supervisor: Associate Professor Jennifer Craig

Title: Comparison of patient-applied heat therapies for meibomian gland dysfunction: a three-phase evaluation


Runner Up Place: Tim Hsu-Han Wang

Department: Department of Surgery

Supervisor: Dr Greg O’Grady

Title: Loss of Interstitial Cells of Cajal and Patterns of Gastric Dysrhythmia in Chronic Unexplained Nausea and Vomiting


Runner Up: Alistair Lock

Department: School of Medicine

Supervisor: Dr David Musson

Title: In Vitro Immunogenicity Screening for Novel Bone Graft Scaffolds


Poster Presentation Category Winners

First Place: Stephanie Segovia

Department: Liggins Institute

Supervisor: Associate Professor Mark Vickers

Title: Conjugated linoleic acid supplementation improves maternal high fat

diet-induced programming of metabolic dysfunction in male rat offspring


Runner Up: Jonathan Rawstorn

Department: National Institute for Health Innovation

Supervisor: Associate Professor Ralph Maddison

Title: Breaking barriers: Real-time remote telemonitoring puts exercise-based cardiac rehabilitation at patients’ fingertips


Runner Up: Carl Hume  

Department: School of Medicine

Supervisor: Dr Lynsey Cree

Title: What do women really want from Early Pregnancy Monitoring following fertility treatment?

Exposure Participants

Congratulations to the following high-achieving HealtheX participants who will represent the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences and compete at the University-wide student conference, Exposure. 

In alphabetical order:


Oral Presentation



Alistair Lock

Dr David Musson

Chen (Peter) Qiu

Professor Paul Donaldson

Elizabeth Hammond

Dr Lynsey Cree

Grace Gong

Professor Peter Shepherd

Hans Vellara

Associate Professor Dipika Patel

Jamie de Seymour

Professor Philip Baker

Jibin Xu

Associate Professor Nicola North

Lennex Yu

Dr Sue McGlashan

Lily Chang

Dr Monica Acosta

Lotte van den Heuij

Professor Laura Bennet

Lucia Du

Dr Christopher Hall

Madhavi Pandya

Dr Monica Acosta

Mancy Tong

Professor Larry Chamley

Mohanraj Krishnan

Professor Andrew Shelling

Odunayo Rotimi

Dr Ilva Rupenthal

Rachel Dodd

Associate Professor Alan Davidson

Rikus Botha

Associate Professor Kathy Mountjoy

Sarah Gerritsen

Associate Professor Susan Morton

Tiffany Eng

Professor Philip Crosier

Veronica Boyle

Professor Philip Baker

Poster Presentation




Amy Liu

Professor Sally Poppitt


Dedeepya Uppalapati

Dr Darren Svirskis


Dharani Sontam

Dr Justin O’Sullivan


Guanyu Chen

Dr Jingyuan Wen


Haowen Li

Dr Marie-Louise Ward


Helen Murray

Associate Professor Maurice Curtis


Jonathan Rawstorn

Associate Professor Ralph Maddison


Jordan Walsh

Dr Marie-Louise Ward


Marcelli Coronet

Professor David Cameron-Smith


Stephanie Segovia

Associate Professor Mark Vickers


Vandre Figueiredo

Professor David Cameron-Smith


Yohanes Nursalim

Dr Maggie Kalev-Zylinska


Samuel Haysom

Dr Sue McGlashan