Regional Rural Admission Scheme (RRAS)

Confirmation of Eligibility

Guidelines for School Submissions

The Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor Surgery (MBChB), Bachelor of Optometry, and Bachelor of Pharmacy (BPharm) programmes have allocated places for students of regional or rural origin. These places are to ensure equitable access for such students. Workforce shortages in both professions are apparent in regional and rural New Zealand, and evidence shows that students identifying with regional or rural backgrounds are more likely to work outside urban areas.

A regional rural area is defined by the University of Auckland as any part of New Zealand that does not fall within the local authority boundaries of the

  • Auckland City Council
  • Hamilton City Council
  • Tauranga City Council
  • Wellington City Council
  • Porirua City Council
  • Hutt City Council
  • Upper Hutt City Council
  • Christchurch City Council
  • Dunedin City Council

Students wishing to apply under the RRAS category must provide an official letter from the regional rural schools they attended as an evidence of their regional or rural origin.  The letter must include all of the following:

(a) your full legal name

(b) the duration of your study, e.g. “31 January 2012 to 31 November 2016 (Yr9-13)”

(c) the physical location of the institute and the name of the local district council

(d) the programme(s) that you are applying for, i.e. MBChB, BOptom, and/or BPharm


The letter must be signed by the principal or nominee, and the original must be posted by the regional/rural education institution to:

Faculty Student Centre
Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences
The University of Auckland
Private Bag 92019
Auckland 1142


Letters must be received on or before the application closing date (1 October)