Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences


PhD contacts

If you are interested in pursuing a PhD in our faculty, you can submit an online Application for Admissin (AfA). This provides you with a clear channel for enquiring about doctoral study and acquiring a supervisor.

Complete an AfA

Once you have completed an AfA form, prospective students may also contact the appropriate coordinator for advice. The coordinators for each subject, along with their email address, is listed below.

PhD subject contacts


Subject Contact Email
Anaesthesiology Dr Guy Warman g.warman@auckland.ac.nz
Anatomy and Medical Imaging Dr Fabiana Kubke f.kubke@auckland.ac.nz
Audiology Dr Rob McNeill r.mcneill@auckland.ac.nz
Biomedical Science
Associate Professor Nuala Helsby
n.helsby@auckland.ac.nz
Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Dr Rob McNeill r.mcneill@auckland.ac.nz
General Practice and Primary Health Care Dr Rob McNeill r.mcneill@auckland.ac.nz
Health Psychology (Psychological Medicine) Associate Professor Nathan Consedine n.consedine@auckland.ac.nz
Health Systems Dr Rob McNeill r.mcneill@auckland.ac.nz
Pacific Health
Dr Rob McNeill r.mcneill@auckland.ac.nz
Medicine Associate Professor Rinki Murphy r.murphy@auckland.ac.nz
Molecular Medicine and Pathology Dr Graeme Finlay g.finlay@auckland.ac.nz
Nursing Dr John Parsons j.parsons@auckland.ac.nz
Obstetrics and Gynaecology   Dr Lynsey Cree l.cree@auckland.ac.nz
Oncology Associate Professor Nuala Helsby n.helsby@auckland.ac.nz
Ophthalmology Dr Ilva Rupenthal c.mcghee@auckland.ac.nz
Optometry and Vision Science Dr Monica Acosta
m.acosta@auckland.ac.nz
Paediatrics Associate Professor Jane Alsweiler j.alsweiler@auckland.ac.nz
Pharmacology and Clinical Pharmacology Associate Professor Debbie Young ds.young@auckland.ac.nz
Pharmacy Dr. Suresh Muthukumaraswamy
sd.muthu@auckland.ac.nz
Physiology Associate Professor Srdjan Vlajkovic s.vlajkovic@auckland.ac.nz
Psychiatry (Psychological Medicine) Associate Professor Trecia Wouldes t.wouldes@auckland.ac.nz
Social and Community Health  Dr Rob McNeill r.mcneill@auckland.ac.nz
Surgery Associate Professor Lindsay Plank l.plank@auckland.ac.nz
Te Kupenga Hauora Māori Dr Anneka Anderson a.anderson@auckland.ac.nz