Centre for Brain Research

Centre for Brain Research Advisory Board


Sir Richard Faull

Professor Sir Richard Faull

Professor Sir Richard Faull is the Director of the Centre for Brain Research and a Professor of Anatomy at the University of Auckland. He has an international reputation for his research studies on the normal and diseased human brain and has been awarded New Zealand's highest scientific award, the Rutherford Medal. He is the Patron of the Alzheimer's Foundation (Auckland), Alzheimer's New Zealand Charitable Trust and the Huntington's Disease Association (Auckland and Northland), and is the Medical Patron of the Motor Neurone Disease Association of New Zealand.

Professor Alan Barber Sept 14 print

Professor Alan Barber

Professor Alan Barber is the Deputy-Director (Clinical) of the Centre for Brain Research and a practising neurologist. He is the head of the Stroke Service at Auckland District Health Board and holds the Neurological Foundation of New Zealand Chair in Clinical Neurology. He is the Secretary for the Australia and New Zealand Association of Neurologists and the Medical Advisor to the Stroke Foundation (Northern Region).

AP Deborah Young

Associate Professor Deborah Young

Associate Professor Deborah Young is Associate Director of the Centre for Brain Research and Director of the NeuroDiscovery Behavioural Unit within the centre. She leads the Molecular Neurotherapeutics Lab where her research interests are in the development of gene therapy and immunotherapeutic strategies for neurodegenerative diseases.  




Associate Professor Lynette Tippett

Lynette Tippett is an Associate Professor of Psychology at the University of Auckland. A major focus of her research programme involves clinical and neuropsychological investigations of individuals with neurological disorders, particularly neurodegenerative diseases (Huntington’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, Motor Neuron Disease and Parkinson’s disease). Central to the success of this research are strong multi-disciplinary research teams, linking bench-top neuroscience with clinical science and patients.

Lynette is the Director of BRNZ’s national network of Dementia Prevention Research Clinics, and co-director of the Auckland clinic alongside geriatrician Dr Phil Wood.


Advisory Board

The Advisory Board shapes and guides the direction of the Centre for Brain Research.


Chair, Professor John Fraser

Professor John Fraser is the Dean of the University of Auckland's Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences. He is responsible for the overall strategic leadership, governance and management of the faculty. He is a biochemist whose groundbreaking research in molecular aspects of the immune response has led to new understandings of how superantigens work.

David Mace

Deputy Chair, David Mace

David Mace is the Chairman of the Freemasons Roskill Foundation, a major philanthropic organisation in New Zealand. He is a Chartered Accountant and has held numerous managerial and directorial positions at the world’s largest accountancy firms, including Ernst and Young.


Professor John Hosking

John is Dean of Science, assuming the role in June 2014. Prior to that he was Dean of Engineering and Computer Science at the Australian National University and before that he was Professor of Applied Computer Science in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Auckland, including a six year term as Head of Department. John's research career has been in Software Engineering, with over 200 publications in his area of expertise and a long history of University-industry research engagement.

Jo Brosnahan

Jo Brosnahan

Jo Brosnahan is the founding Chair of Leadership NZ, the Chair of Landcare Research and a director on a number of boards. Prior to this, she was CEO of the Auckland Regional Council for eight years. She is a Harkness Fellow, with an expertise in leadership and strategy.

wendy fleming

Wendy Fleming

Wendy Fleming is a Registered Nurse and the current Chair of Alzheimers New Zealand Charitable Trust. Additionally, she is responsible for raising funds for research into dementia. Wendy is also the Honorary Vice President of Alzheimer’s Disease International as well as the past Chair and Honorary Life Member of Alzheimers New Zealand.

richard frith2

Dr Richard Frith

Dr Richard Frith is a neurologist and clinical neurophysiologist at ADHB. He is Chair of the A+ Trust, the Charitable Trust associated with the Auckland District Health Board (ADHB), and Chair of the Julius Brendel Trust. He is President-elect of the Australian and New Zealand Association of Neurologists.


John Villiger, PhD

John Villiger has spent the 25 years in the pharmaceutical industry working predominantly in drug development. Between 1987-1996 he was employed by Hoffman La Roche in New Zealand and Switzerland in a global drug development. John was the co-founder of the Medicines Company in the USA and between 1996-2006 played a major role in it becoming a Nasdaq-listed specialist pharmaceutical company. He has served on several boards of Australasian biotechnology companies and the University of Auckland

Scientific Advisory Board

Research Advisory Group

Māori Advisory Group

This panel of international scientific experts guide the scientific direction and development of the centre. The Research Advisory Group consists of leading scientists from across the centre. They help to shape the ongoing development of the centre and its staff and students. The Māori Advisory Group guides the Directors of the Centre for Brain Research on tikanga protocol.
Read more about the Scientific Advisory Board Read more about the Research Advisory Group Read more about the Māori Advisory Group