Centre for Brain Research

CBR Annual Report


Read about our development and events during 2010. You can view the report online or download here:

CBR Annual Report 2010
(9.1 MB, PDF)

Take a look at highlights from our development.

Our development

1920s    First neurosurgical operations performed in Auckland Hospital by Sir Carrick Robertson.

1935     Dr. J.E. Caughey (“Jock”) practises in Auckland City Hospital as the first neurologist.

1946     Neurosurgeon Mr. Donald McKenzie helps to establish the first neurosurgical unit at Auckland City Hospital with a 16 bed                 ward and its own operating theatre.

1959     First neurological unit in Auckland established, with ten inpatient beds.

1968     First intake of medical students to The University of Auckland School of Medicine. Over 260 applications received for the                 initial 60 places; all lectures held on main campus.

1970    Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth opens the new School of Medicine Building at Grafton (24th March).

1973    First cohort of medical students at Auckland completes and graduates in 1974.

1975    First PhD degree awarded for neuroscience research.

1979     Dr Ernie Willoughby is appointed as a Senior Lecturer in the University of Auckland's Department of Medicine, becoming the             first academic in neurology.

1981     Professor Richard Faull receives the University’s first human brain donation.

1993     The Neurological Foundation Human Brain Bank is established.

2003     The Auckland Neuroscience Network is established to foster collaboration between neuroscientists.

2007     The New Zealand Brain Bee Challenge starts in Auckland.                                                                                                        ANN holds the first Auckland Brain Open Day at the FMHS Grafton Medical School.

2008     Professor Alan Barber is appointed as the first Chair in Clinical Neurology, funded by the Neurological Foundation.

2009     The concept of the Centre for Brain Research is approved by the University Senate.
            The Centre for Brain Research is opened by the Minister for Research, Science and Technology, Hon. Dr Wayne Mapp.

2010     Centre for Brain Research hosts and expands Brain Day in Auckland, in association with the Neurological Foundation.
            Professor Richard Faull is named Supreme Winner of the the Kea World Class New Zealand Awards.
            The Biobank is established by the Hugh Green Charitable Trust.

2011     The Brain Recovery Clinic is launched by the Hon. Dr Tony Ryall.
            The Spinal Cord Injury Research Unit is established by the CatWalk Trust.