Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences

FMHS academic staff awards

Teaching awards available to academic staff

The mission of the University of Auckland includes a commitment to excellence in teaching. The Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences offers the awards listed below.

Nominations for the 2018 FMHS Butland Distinguished Teaching Awards and the Dennis Pickup Clinical Educator Awards are now closed and winners will be announced in June. Teaching Awards Ceremony will be held on Wednesday 18 July at 4-6pm at Grafton Atrium. We welcome all FMHS staff to come along to support and celebrate the achievement of the awardees.

Call for nominations for the 2019 awards will open in early 2019.

View a list of previous recipients

Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 teaching awards

Butland Teaching Award

Early Career Excellence in Teaching: Dr Giriraj Singh Shekhawat, Department of Health Systems, School of Population Health

Excellence in Research Supervision: Assoc Prof Nathan Consedine, Department of Psychological Medicine, School of Medicine

Leadership in Teaching: Assoc Prof Michal Boyd, School of Nursing


Dennis Pickup Clinical Educator Awards

Dr Steve Main & Dr Kati Blattner (joint award) (Medicine) Co-ordinators of the PÅ«kawakawa programme in Hokianga

Assoc Prof Amanda Oakley (Medicine) Dermatologist, DermNet NZ, Waikato DHB

Julie Daltrey (Nursing) Nurse Practitioner, Rural and Community Services, Waikato DHB

2017 FMHS Teaching Awards winners
2017 FMHS Teaching Awards winners. From left to right: Jock Carnachan, Grant Cathro, Jack Cathro & Debbie Butland (Butland Foundation); Steve Main, Amanda Oakley, Kati Blattner, John Fraser, Giriraj Shekhawat, Dennis Pickup, Nathan Consedine.