2017 NZAS Science Medals - Due 31 July 2017

Applications are invited for the following 2017 Science Medals from the New Zealand Association of Scientists (NZAS)

  • Marsden Medal:

The Marsden Medal is awarded for a lifetime of outstanding service to the cause or profession of science, in the widest connotation of the phrase.

  • Shorland Medal:

The Shorland Medal is awarded to an individual or to a team in recognition of major and continued contribution to basic or applied research that has added significantly to scientific understanding or resulted in significant benefits to society.

  • Hill Tinsley Medal

The Hill Tinsley Medal (until 2016 known as the Research Medal) is awarded for outstanding fundamental or applied research in the physical, natural or social sciences published during the year of the award or the preceding three calendar years. Applicants will normally be within their first 15 years after graduating Ph.D. as at 1 January 2017, unless career breaks extend this period.

  • Science Communicator Award

This award is made annually to a practising scientist (or group of scientists) for excellence in communicating science to the general public, in any area of science or technology. Nominations are sought from scientific organizations, scientific associations and individuals.

For more information on each medal and teh application process, please click here