Faculty friends recognised in 2012 New Year Honours list

27 January 2012

The recent New Year Honours List featured a number of individuals who have close associations with the faculty and it is a pleasure to record their recognition on the news section of the FMHS website.

  • Associate Professor Bruce Hadden was made a Companion of the NZ Order of Merit (CNZM) recognising his achievements as an outstanding and pioneering eye surgeon as well as his work as the President of the Royal Australian College of Ophthalmologists in addition to the very significant philanthropic support he has provided for the Department of Ophthalmology;
  • Dr Jeremy Cooper , and honorary Senior Lecturer in the Department of Anaesthesiology, was appointed a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit (MNZM);
  • Dr John (Jock) Carnaghan from Epsom, an alumnus and trustee of the Butland Trust which supports the FMHS teaching awards, was also appointed a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit (MNZM);
  • Philanthropists who have supported FMHS or Liggins Institute endeavours were also recognised with Colin Giltrap receiving a knighthood and CBR supporter Hugh Green receiving a Queen’s Service Medal. Rosanne Meo , a founding trustee of the School of Medicine Foundation, was appointed a Dame Companion of the NZ Order of Merit;
  • Many in faculty will also be delighted with the honour bestowed on The University of Auckland identity Professor Margaret Brimble which adds a Companion of the NZ order of Merit (CNZM) to the MNZM that had previously been awarded to her for her services to science.